2012 Awards

awards 2012

Below the awards to be given in  2013 only are shown. For a full list of all awards use the link on the left "Details of our Awards"

Download a list of past winners >>

Right: award winners for 2012 at the 2013 AGM

Nominations for 2013 are now closed and will open again in May 2014 for nominations for 2014

  1. The Mason Gold Medal awarded biennially to a Fellow of the Society for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the fundamental processes that determine the variability and predictability of weather and climate.
  2. The Buchan Prize awarded annually to members of the Society for a paper or papers published in the Society’s journals in the preceding five years and adjudged to contain the most important original contribution or contributions to meteorology.
  3. The L F Richardson Prize awarded annually for a meritorious paper which was published in a Society journal during the preceding four years, and was contributed by a member of the Society who was in their early career in meteorology (which we define as no more than 15 years into their career, excluding career breaks) at the time of submission.
  4. The Adrian Gill Award awarded annually, in memory of Adrian Gill, to a member of the Society who has made a significant contribution(s), published in Society journals, at the interface between atmospheric science and related disciplines, thereby allowing the contributions to be referred to as “multi-disciplinary”.
  5. The FitzRoy Prize awarded biennially for distinguished work in applications of meteorology or related sciences.
  6. Society Outstanding Service Award made annually for outstanding service to the Society by its members or staff.
  7. The Gordon Manley Weather Prize awarded annually for any outstanding contribution to Weather through a paper or papers or service to Weather in the preceding five years that has furthered the public understanding of meteorology and oceanography.
  8. Honorary Fellowship awarded to a person who is distinguished by their work in meteorology or related sciences; or a distinguished person whom the Society desires to honour for services rendered.  A list of the current Honorary Fellows is available on the website at http://www.rmets.org/about-us/people/honorary-fellows-rmets.

The Awards Committee and Council invite nominations for the Society’s awards and prizes on an annual basis from the membership of the Society via notices in Weather and the website. Nominations can be sent to the Chief Executive of the Royal Meteorological Society.



Award Nomination Form