Awards Information


Call for Awards 2014

Below the awards to be given in  2014 only are shown. For a full list of all awards use the link on the left "Awards"

The image on the right shows the 2013 prize winners at the 2014 AGM

The Royal Meteorological Society recognises excellence in meteorology and related disciplines through its medals, awards and prizes Download a list of past winners >>

The call for nominations for year ending 2014 is now open.  Those wishing to put forward a candidate can download further information and a Nomination Form below.  Any nominations should be returned to the Society at the address given on the form or by email to by 31st October 2014.

The Society can only act on nominations it has received.  If you know a deserving individual, please do not assume someone else will take the initiative for submitting a nomination.

Please take the time to recognise colleagues by submitting a nomination. 

  1. The Symons Gold Medal awarded biennially for distinguished work done in connection with Meteorological Science.
  2. The Buchan Prize awarded annually to members of the Society for a paper or papers published in the Society’s journals in the preceding five years and adjudged to contain the most important original contribution or contributions to meteorology.
  3. The Hugh Robert Mill Award awarded biennially for original research into the distribution of precipitation, or into the variation of precipitation in time at any place, or into precipitation either as a meteorological phenomenon, or in relation to climatology, agriculture, water supply, water power or other applications. 
  4. The LF Richardson Prize awarded annually for a meritorious paper published in the preceding four years in a Society journal by a member of the Society who is an early-career scientist (no more than 15 years into their career, excluding career breaks).
  5. The Michael Hunt Award awarded biennially to individuals for excellence in increasing the understanding of meteorology or its allied disciplines among members of the general public, including particular groups such as yachtsmen, schoolchildren, etc.
  6. The Adrian Gill Award awarded annually, in memory of Adrian Gill, to a member of the Society who has made a significant contribution(s), in the specified fields, and who has also been an author of a paper(s) in the Society’s journals. The specified fields are those that interface between atmospheric science and related disciplines, thereby allowing the contributions to be referred to as “multi-disciplinary”. These related disciplines include oceanography, hydrology, biogeochemistry, numerical methodologies, etc.
  7. The Innovation Award awarded biennially The award shall recognise people, projects or programmes within the academic, scientific or business communities who have made significant contributions to educating, informing or motivating organisations in their response to meteorological challenges, for example climate change or significant weather events.  Materials and methods used should be innovative and audience appropriate.  Evidence of the significance of the impact to the environment shall be required and ideally the person/project should be able to offer examples of where other organisations have adopted or replicated this innovation.
  8. The Vaisala Award awarded biennially to recognise people or teams from within the amateur community, academia or business who have made significant contributions to instrumentation or observing across the meteorological and related sciences (for example weather and climate observing, cloud physics, physical oceanography and atmospheric composition).  Specifically the award shall recognise an outstanding contribution in one of the following areas:
    • instrument development;
    • the collection and quality control of observations;
    • insight into observing the weather/climate;
    • meteorological field campaigns.
  9. The Society Outstanding Service Award made annually for outstanding service to the Society by its members or staff.
  10. Honorary Fellowship awarded to a person who is distinguished by their work in meteorology or related sciences; or a distinguished person whom the Society desires to honour for services rendered. A list of the current Honorary Fellows is available on the Society website at


Award Nomination Form