Call for Award Nominations 2015

The 2015 RMetS awards winners

Call for Awards 2015

The Society invites nominations for the awards and prizes shown below, for 2015, which will be presented in 2016.  The full regulations for the awards are shown in the Standing Orders, a copy of which can be obtained on request from the Society.  For information, winners of these prizes for the last ten years are shown overleaf.  Further information and Nomination Forms are available on the website at or from the Society.  Completed Nomination Forms should be sent to the Chief Executive ( by 31 October 2015 for:

  1. The Mason Gold Medal awarded biennially to a Fellow of the Society for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the fundamental processes that determine the variability and predictability of weather and climate.
  2. The Buchan Prize awarded annually to members of the Society for a paper or papers published in the Society’s journals in the preceding five years and adjudged to contain the most important original contribution or contributions to meteorology.
  3. The L F Richardson Prize awarded annually for a meritorious paper which was published in a Society journal during the preceding four years, and was contributed by a member of the Society who was in their early career in meteorology (which we define as no more than 15 years into their career, excluding career breaks) at the time of submission.
  4. The Adrian Gill Award awarded annually, in memory of Adrian Gill, to a member of the Society who has made a significant contribution(s), published in Society journals, at the interface between atmospheric science and related disciplines, thereby allowing the contributions to be referred to as “multi-disciplinary”.
  5. The FitzRoy Prize awarded biennially for distinguished work in applications of meteorology or related sciences.
  6. Society’s Outstanding Service Award made annually for outstanding service to the Society by its members or staff.
  7. The Gordon Manley Weather Prize awarded annually for any outstanding contribution to Weather through a paper or papers or service to Weather in the preceding five years that has furthered the public understanding of meteorology and oceanography.
  8. Honorary Fellowship awarded to a person who is distinguished by their work in meteorology or related sciences; or a distinguished person whom the Society desires to honour for services rendered.  A list of the current Honorary Fellows is available on the website at