Becoming a Fellow normally requires a formal qualification (eg. a first degree in a science subject and/or post-graduate degree or an NVQ in a relevant discipline) and at least five years of professional experience within or directly related to meteorology. Exceptionally, long experience and performance at a high professional level, suitably attested by peer review, can replace the requirement for a formal academic or vocational qualification. MSc or PhD study in a relevant subject counts as one or two years experience respectively.

Apply to become a Fellow

To be considered for election to Fellow applicants need to be proposed by two existing Fellows.

Those elected may use the appellation FRMetS as a measure of professional competence in meteorology. Those elected to Fellow before this scheme was introduced on 5 September 2003 will need to apply for the use of FRMetS.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix
Dr Nathan Luke Abraham FRMetS
Dr Daniel Stephen Adamson
Dr John Akintayo Adedoyin FRMetS
Dr Grant Allen
Dr Lesley Catherine Allison FRMetS
Mr George David Anderson
Dr Philip Stuart Anderson
Dr Karen Aplin
Dr Alexander Thomas Archibald FRMetS
Mr Gresaleo Ares FRMetS
Mr Neil Armstrong FRMetS CMet
Mr Jorg Asmus
Dr Maria Athanassiadou
Dr Barney Nicolas Austin
Mr Michael Bader FRMetS
Mr Michael Bagg FRMetS
Dr Peter Baines FRMetS
Prof Mark P Baldwin FRMetS
Mrs Stephanie Ball
Mrs Susan Ballard FRMetS
Dr Gianpaolo Balsamo FRMetS
Prof Janet Fraser Barlow FRMetS
Dr Ronald Barnes
Mrs Claire Barnett FRMetS
Mr Roger Barrowcliffe
Dr Stephen Frank Bass FRMetS
Mr Kenneth Leslie Batt
Mr Peter John Baur
Dr Joan Bech
Mr Christopher Lee Bell
Dr Angela Benedetti FRMetS
Dr Michael Bennett FRMetS CMet
Dr Alec James Bennett
Dr Lindsay Joanne Bennett
Prof Liz Jane Bentley
Mrs Nicola Berry
Dr David Inglis Berry
Mr Martin John Best FRMetS
Dr Alan Betts FRMetS
Mr Ian George Bingham
Mr Rodney Martin Blackall FRMetS
Dr Michael Blackburn
Mr William John Blackwood
Mr Dale John Blanck FRMetS
Dr Anatoly Bogush FRMetS
Mrs Penelope Boorman FRMetS
Dr Olivier Boucher FRMetS
Dr Keir Jonathan Bovis FRMetS
Dr Keith Bower
Lt Cdr Peter Charles Braley FRMetS