Announcement of 2016 Society Awards and Prize Winners

2015 award winners

The Society is delighted to announce the Awards and Prize Winners for 2016, which will be presented on 17th May 2017 at the Annual General Meeting in London. The Society’s awards for excellence in meteorology are held in high regard across the international community.

Awards and winners for 2016 are detailed below:

  • The Symons Gold Medal - Prof John Michael Wallace
  • The Buchan Prize - Prof Suzanne Gray
  • The L F Richardson Prize - Dr Ian Boutle
  • The Adrian Gill Prize - Prof Stephen Belcher
  • The Michael Hunt Award - Mr Paul Hudson
  • The Society’s Outstanding Service Award - Dr Dennis Wheeler and Mr Kenneth Cook
  • The Climate Science Communications Award - Dr Ed Hawkins
  • Vaisala Award - Mr Michael Brettle
  • Innovation Award - Mr Mohammed Boulahya
  • The Gordon Manley Weather Prize - Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, Edinburgh - Dr Adam Watson, Mr Iain Cameron, Mr David Duncan and Mr John Pottie
  • The Quarterly Journal Prize - Prof Anthony Illingworth
  • The Quarterly Journal Editor’s Prize - Dr Kumar Vijay Mishra
  • International Journal of Editor’s Award - Dr Jonathan Spinoni
  • Atmospheric Science Letters Editors Award - Mr Tim Hewson
  • Honorary Fellows - Prof Peter Webster, Prof Jo Haigh, Prof Susan Solomon, Dame Prof Julia Slingo

Congratulations to all!

Image: 2015 Award Winners

News Date: 
Friday, March 31, 2017