Announcement of 2017 Society Awards and Prize Winners


The Society is delighted to announce the Awards and Prize Winners for 2017, which will be presented on 16th May 2018 at the Annual General Meeting in London. The Society’s awards for excellence in meteorology are held in high regard across the international community.

Awards and winners for 2017 are detailed below:

Award Recipient Affiliation

The Mason Gold Medal

Dr Graeme L. Stephens

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory USA 

The Buchan Prize

Prof John Methven 

Department of Meteorology, University of Reading

The Hugh Robert Mill Award

Dr Vikki Thompson

Met Office Hadley Centre

The L F Richardson Prize

Dr Annelize van Niekerk

Met Office

The Fitzroy Prize

Dr Alec James Bennett

BIRAL (Bristol Industrial and Research Associates Ltd) and Visiting Fellow, University of Bath

The Adrian Gill Prize

Prof Ian Renfrew

University of East Anglia

The Society’s Outstanding Service Award

Mr George Meldrum


The Climate Science Communications Award

Dr Emily Shuckburgh

British Antarctic Survey

The Gordon Manley Weather Prize

Dr Peter Inness

University of Reading

Quarterly Journal Editor’s Award

Mr Jack Hopkins, Mr Keith Grant and Ms Nadine Thompson


International Journal of Climatology Editor’s Award 

Prof Edward Hanna

University of Lincoln

Atmospheric Science Letters Editor’s Award

Mr Dillon Amaya

Ph.D. student at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego

Meteorological Applications Editor’s Award

Prof Chris Collier

University of Leeds

Quarterly Journal Prize Reviewer’s Certificate

Dr Charles Chemel

Dr Gregory Elsaesser

Dr Richard Forbes

Dr Matthew Martin

University of Hertfordshire

NASA GISS/Columbia University


Met Office


The Society also appointed the following new Honorary Fellows, the highest award of membership made by the Society, in recognition of their distinguished careers and long standing contribution to Meteorology:

  • Prof Phil Jones - Professor, Former Director of Research, Climatic Research Unit, University of East Anglia, Norwich. Presently Professorial Fellow at CRU.
  • Prof Michael McIntyre – University of Cambridge 
  • Prof Alan Thorpe – Visiting Professor at University of Reading

Congratulations to all!

If you believe that a colleague who is a Fellow of the Society should be rewarded for their work or commitment to the Society, please consider nominating them for the 2018 awards which will open in May 2018.


News Date: 
Tuesday, March 27, 2018