Clouds as the sun breaks through

Atmospheric Science Conference 2021 – Full Programme Announced

25 May 2021

Conference season is nearly upon us, with just one month left to register and attend the first day of this year's Atmospheric Science Conference. The conference will be taking place as a series of virtual events on 22 June, 6 July and 21 September, with the overarching theme 'Atmospheric Science for Solutions'.

The full programme has now been announced, combining keynote speakers with plenary presentations, parallel oral sessions (with Q&A), and short talks.

The first two events will include plenary sessions on net-zero emissions, climate adaptation and resilience, and disaster risk reduction. The third event will look to the future and the opportunities and challenges that will impact atmospheric science moving forward.

Replacing the traditional poster sessions are multiple small parallel Zoom sessions on each day. The format will consist of 10-minute talks with a limited number of slides. Each session will include 5-6 talks.

Keynote Speakers

22 June (Net Zero)

  • Prof Keith P Shine, Regius Professor of Meteorology and Climate Science, University of Reading
  • Prof Myles Allen, Professor of Geosystem Science, Environmental Change Institute and Dept of Physics, University of Oxford; Director, Oxford Net Zero
  • Dr Sarah Honour, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS)

6 July (Adaptation and Resilience)

  • Dr Tom Philp, Chief Executive Officer, Maximum Information
  • Dr Linda Speight, Researcher in Applied Flood Forecasting, University of Reading
  • Prof Erin Coughlan de Perez, Dignitas Associate Professor, Tufts University and Senior Advisor, Red Cross Red Crescent Advisor
  • Dr Gary Fuller, Senior Lecturer in Air Quality Measurement, MRC Centre for Environment and Health, Imperial College London

21 September (Atmospheric Science in the 2020s)

  • Dr Samantha V. Adams, Data Science Research Manager, Met Office Informatics Lab
  • Dr Peter Bauer – Deputy Director, Research Department, European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF)
  • Dr Barbara Brooks, Joint Head, Atmospheric Measurement and Observation Facility (AMOF), National Centre for Atmospheric Science (NCAS)
  • Dr Antje Inness – Senior Scientist, Copernicus Department, European Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasting (ECMWF)
  • Dr Christine Johnson, Dynamics Research Scientist, Met Office
  • Simon Lee, PhD student, Department of Meteorology, University of Reading
  • Dr Ruth Purvis – Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, NCAS, Air Quality Research Scientist, University of York
  • Prof John Remedios - Director of the National Centre for Earth Observation
  • Prof David M. Schultz – Professor of Synoptic Meteorology, and Director, Centre for Crisis Studies and Mitigation, University of Manchester
  • Prof Ted Shepherd FRS, Grantham Professor of Climate Science, University of Reading

Please visit for more information.


Register your attendance


Please note that registration for each day of the conference will close by midday the day before.

The Atmospheric Science Conference is proudly hosted by the National Centre for Atmospheric Science and the Royal Meteorological Society, two of the UK's most influential organisations committed to advancing atmospheric science.