A star award trophy in front of a clock face

Final call for nominations for the 2021 Awards and Prizes

12 October 2021

A final call for nominations for the Society's 2021 Awards and Prizes, Honorary Fellowships and the Malcolm Walker Award, which will all be presented in 2022.

All Nomination and Application Forms must be submitted by 22 October 2021.  

  • The Mason Gold Medal: one of the Society’s most prestigious awards, awarded biennially to a Fellow of the Society for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the fundamental processes that determine the variability and predictability of weather and climate.
  • The Buchan Prize: awarded annually to members of the Society for a paper or papers published in the Society’s journals in the preceding five years and adjudged to contain the most important original contribution or contributions to meteorology.
  • The FitzRoy Prize: awarded biennially for distinguished work in applications of meteorology or related sciences.
  • The L F Richardson Prize: awarded annually for a meritorious paper published in the preceding four years in a Society journal by a member of the Society who is an early-career scientist (no more than 15 years into their career, excluding career breaks). Please note if the nomination is for the LF Richardson Prize then clarification of the work of the person nominated is required and confirmation that they did most of the work for the paper being nominated.
  • The Adrian Gill Award: awarded annually to a member of the Society who has made a significant contribution(s) and author paper(s) in the Society’s journals in fields interfacing between atmospheric science and related disciplines, thereby being referred to as “multi-disciplinary”.
  • The Climate Science Communication Award: awarded annually in recognition of outstanding scientific contributions to Climate Science, including proactive outreach activities.
  • The Society Outstanding Service Award: awarded annually for outstanding service to the Society by its members or staff.
  • The Gordon Manley Weather Prize: awarded annually for any outstanding contribution to Weather through a paper or papers or service to Weather in the preceding five years that have furthered the public understanding of meteorology and oceanography.
  • Honorary Fellowship: a lifetime accolade made to a select group of distinguished individuals whose careers in  meteorology (or a related science) or as a public figure renders them a leader and role model within the meteorological community and an inspiration to future generations. Honorary Fellowship is limited to a small number of individuals and is the highest honour bestowed by the Society.
  • The Malcolm Walker Award: bestowed annually to recognise and encourage emerging researchers who have brought new insights into an aspect of the environmental sciences, which includes elements of meteorology and/or oceanography. 

Further information, forms and details on how to submit an entry are available on the Awards section of our website here.

If you have any questions regarding the process, please email info@rmets.org