

Election of Officers and Members of Council

By-Law 48 requires Council to circulate to Fellows and Members a list of duly qualified individuals for the vacancies for Officers and Members of Council from 1 October 2025. All Officers and Members of Council are Trustees of the Society.

The proposed Officers and Members of Council for 2025/26 are:

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Brian Golding OBE FRMetS Met Office (Chair, Awards Committee and Strategic Planning Board)

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Emily Shuckburgh FRMetS Cambridge Zero
Keith Williams FRMetS Met Office

Penny Holliday FRMetS National Oceanography Centre

VICE-PRESIDENT FOR SCOTLAND

Gregory Wolverson FRMetS CMet Met Office

TREASURER

Paul Hardaker FRMetS CMet FInstP University of Reading

GENERAL SECRETARY

Derek Swannick FRMetS FCMI MAPM Ministry of Defence Civil Service (Chair, House Committee)

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Radan Huth FRMetS Charles University, Prague (Chair, Scientific Publishing Board) **Edmund Henley** Met Office (Chair, Meetings and Conferences Committee) Karl Shepherdson FRMetS Met Office (Chair, Education Committee) Rebecca Venton FRMetS CMet Consultant (Chair, Professional Accreditation Board) Sarah Hewitt FRMetS Met Office (Chair, Membership development Board) **Hayley Fowler PhD FRMetS** Newcastle University (Co-Chair, Science Engagement Committee)

MEMBERS

Manali (Mona) Lukha ITV

Hilary Weller University of Reading

In preparing these nominations, Council has taken note of By-Laws 41, 42, 43, 44 and 50 relating to when Officers of the Society retire from Council and to fill casual vacancies. The President and Vice-Presidents normally serve a maximum of two and three years respectively. The Treasurer, General Secretary and Chairs of Committees normally hold the same office for no more than five years in succession. Members of Council serve for three years.

EXPLANATORY NOTES

1 By-Law Requirements for Additional Nominations and for Elections

Fellows and Members are reminded of the regulations for any additional nominations as prescribed in By-Law 48, shown below. Council is circulating a list of duly qualified individuals for Officers and Members of Council in this Notice. If no additional nominations are received as prescribed in By-Law 48, these individuals shall be declared by the President at the Annual General Meeting to be elected unopposed and no ballot papers shall be issued.

2 Nominees' Biographies

Short biographies are included in this Notice for new appointments and, if any further nominations of duly qualified individuals are received from Fellows or Members, biographies of these will be included in ballot papers.

By-Law 48 reads as follows:

48 Council shall circulate to each Fellow and Member by mid-March (usually with the March issue of The Society's journal Weather) a list of duly qualified persons whom they nominate for the vacancies about to occur on Council.

Not later than 30 days after the issue of Council's list any five Fellows or Members but not more than five, may nominate any other duly qualified person to fill any vacancy for an Officer by delivering an appropriate written nomination to the General Secretary at the Society's address together with the written consent of the nominee to accept office if elected, but each such nominator shall be debarred from nominating any other person for the same election.

Biographies for New Appointments

VICE-PRESIDENT (PRESIDENT-ELECT)

Professor Emily Shuckburgh

Professor Emily Shuckburgh is Director of <u>Cambridge Zero</u>, the University of Cambridge's major climate change initiative. She is also Professor of Environmental Data Science at the <u>Department of Computer Science and Technology</u>. She is a mathematician and climate scientist and a Fellow of <u>Darwin College</u>, a Fellow of the <u>Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership</u>, an Associate Fellow of the <u>Centre for Science and Policy</u>, a Fellow of the <u>British Antarctic Survey</u> and a Fellow of the <u>Royal Meteorological Society</u>.

At the University of Cambridge she is Director of the <u>UKRI Centre for Doctoral Training on the Application of AI to the study of Environmental Risks (AI4ER)</u>, Academic Director of the <u>Institute of Computing for Climate Science</u>, and co-Director of the <u>Centre for Landscape Regeneration</u>. She worked for more than a decade at the British Antarctic Survey where her work included leading a UK national research programme on the <u>Southern Ocean and its role in climate</u>. Prior to that she undertook research at <u>École Normale Supérieure</u> in Paris and at <u>MIT</u>. She has also acted as an advisor on climate to the UK Government in various capacities, including as a <u>Friend of COP26</u>.

In 2016 she was awarded an OBE for services to science and the public communication of science. She is co-author with HM King Charles III and Tony Juniper of the <u>Ladybird Book on Climate Change</u>. She is Honorary President of the <u>Aldersgate Group</u>.

VICE-PRESIDENT

Professor Penny Holliday

Professor Penny Holliday is Chief Scientific Officer, National Oceanography Centre.

Penny has over 30 years of experience in world-leading marine science, and in national and international science leadership. Prior to this appointment Penny was Associate Director of National Capability Science and Head of the Marine Physics and Ocean Climate. Penny's research has specialized in using observations and models to understand the North Atlantic, the changing climate and how a changing ocean impacts society. Penny has participated in over twenty seagoing expeditions, several as Chief Scientist. Penny has been principal investigator for national and international programmes researching the Atlantic meridional overturning circulation strength, variability and mechanisms. She has held the role of Principal Investigator UK's world-leading National Capability Science programmes supporting national and global strategic needs.

In September 2025 Penny was awarded the prestigious Challenger Medal from the Challenger Society for her distinguished contribution to marine science. In June 2019 Penny was awarded the title of Honorary Professorial Fellow (Research) by the University of Southampton, and was a recipient of the Society of Underwater Technology's Oceanography Award in December 2019. She received her PhD from Liverpool University in 2002.