Status message

We have now gone live with our new IT system, which should improve your experience of our site. As with all new systems there will inevitably be initial teething problems; if you experience any difficulties then please alert the office either by emailing or telephoning us on 0118 956 8500 and speaking with Tim. Thank you for your patience.

Buchan Prize

Awarded annually to members of the Society for a paper or papers published in the previous five years in the Quarterly Journal, the International Journal of Climatology or Atmospheric Science Letters and adjudged to contain the most important original contribution or contributions to meteorology.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year Public profile
Prof Richard Philip Allan 2014 View
Prof John Thuburn 2013 View
Dr Mark John Rodwell 2012 View
Prof James Matthew Haywood 2011 View
Dr Nigel Wood 2010 View
Dr Olaf Stiller 2009 View
Dr Andrew Ross Brown 2008 View
Dr Andrew Staniforth 2007 View
Mr Alan Grant 2006 View
Dr Andrew White 2005 View