Status message

We have now gone live with our new IT system, which should improve your experience of our site. As with all new systems there will inevitably be initial teething problems; if you experience any difficulties then please alert the office either by emailing or telephoning us on 0118 956 8500 and speaking with Tim. Thank you for your patience.

Mason Gold Medal

Mason Gold Medal

mason medalThe Mason Medal

Sir John Mason has generously funded a new award for Fellows of the Society, known as The Mason Gold Medal. The medal ranks with the Symons medal as the premier award of the Society and is bestowed in alternate years to the Symons. The citation for the Mason Gold Medal is “For outstanding contributions to the understanding of the fundamental processes that determine the variability and predictability of weather and climate”.  The first Mason Gold Medal was awarded in 2006 to Paul Mason.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year Public profile
Prof John Harries FRMetS 2013 View
Prof Peter Webster FRMetS 2011 View
Prof Anthony Illingworth 2009 View
Prof Thomas William Choularton FRMetS 2007 View
Prof Paul Mason 2005 View